1GB of ram / neuron/network simulations

To start using CUDA, I am considering to buy a 8600GT or 8800GT. I realized there are a few cards with 1GB of ram. I wonder if all of the ram is distributed evenly to all resources in the card, so it is possible to use all of 1GB of ram ?

I am quite experienced in programming however I have almost no experience in parallel computing. I have read some material but I want to be sure on some points. My aim is (pseudo-)realistic neuron and network simulations. So, I have many similar densely connected agents. Agents are modelled basically as some order ODE (although it may be a need to take space into account, so ODE may become PDE). So, what I wonder is if CUDA is appropriate for this. I assume I should have a thread for each neuron, but is it possible to access other data (near or maybe far) ? As I said, I am a newbie on this, maybe I am saying something sounding bad. Is there anyone here doing realistic neuron/network simulations ?

Thank you…

Mete

Look at this company, they are using CUDA to do realistic neuron simulations:

http://www.evolvedmachines.com/

If you need a lot of memory, a Tesla C870 has 1.5 GB

I think CUDA is really suited to doing neural network simulations. Generally, parallism is good for CUDA, and neural networks have a very high degree of inherent parallellism.

And yes, almost all RAM can be used for any purpose. There is some overhead, but as long as you don’t run X on the card that’s never more then ±25Mb.

Yes I think same, highly parallel electrical machine for highly parallel biological machine :)

I have tried an 1GB version of the 8800GT (actually for neural networks too, but the artificial version). You can address all the memory as usual, but I got quite bad performance. I did only get half the memory bandwidth compared to the 512MB cards. Despite of questions about it to the vendor, manufacturer and in this forum, I still have no clue if this is something related to the 1GB design or not.