2D char array of random characters represented as 1D char array Trying to make each thread on cuda g

Hello.

I’m a CUDA newbie so I apologize if this is a silly question.

I’m trying to generate say 1000 random strings using the letters of the alphabet. Each “word” has to be 10 characters long.

I don’t want to deal with pitch and 2D arrays since these are nothing more than 1D arrays on the device. So here is the pseudo code for what I was thinking I’d do:

char word_array[ 1000 * 10 ]; // every block of sizeof(char)*10 memory banks 1 word.

char alphabet[] = "ABCDEFGHIJKLMNOPQRSTUVWXYZ"; // my alphabet for picking random letters

// initialize word_array to be all '

char word_array[ 1000 * 10 ]; // every block of sizeof(char)*10 memory banks 1 word.

char alphabet = “ABCDEFGHIJKLMNOPQRSTUVWXYZ”; // my alphabet for picking random letters

// initialize word_array to be all ‘\0’

// initialize random number generator on GPU

// allocate GPU memory for word_array

// allocate GPU memory for alphabet array

// copy word_array to device

// copy alphabet to device

// execute kernel

// copy word_array back to host

// print word_array contents (each 10 characters and then a new line)

' 

// execute kernel

My goal is to have each thread of the GPU generate it’s own random word and store it in one of the “word banks” in the word_array.

I’ve got the code to generate 1 random word on 1 thread, but I can’t scale this up. I’m guessing I’ve screwed up the thread indexing somehow. Can anyone point me in the right direction?

Here is my kernel that generates the random word:

// The main kernel

__global__ void genRandomPep(curandState *dev_state, char *dev_alphabet, char *dev_words) {

int tid = threadIdx.x + (blockIdx.x * blockDim.x); // this is wrong for what I'm trying to do I think

int i,j;

curandState localState = dev_state[tid];

for(i = tid; i < 11; i++) { //iterate over a block of memory covering 10 char's