2d matrices getting started please help

Hi all

I am a final year student and my thesis is based on an implementation of sound wave propagation using the finite deifference time domain on a GPU. I just started the implementation phase of my thesis and i am having difficulty getting started with the programming. I looked at the examples given in the projects folder and in the matrix multiplication example, they use a 1d array to represent a matrix, then when the shared memory is called it becomes a 2d array and is later stored again as a 1d array. this confused me some what. I need to make use of 2d array but the examples only show how to allocate space for 1d arrays. So what I have done is just created arrays without allocating space - double array[width][height] - and that seemed to work up until when I started calculating values for them:

for(int i=0;i<500;i++){
for(int j=0;j<500;j++) {
c1[i][j] = (dt/(Ro[i][j]ddx));
c2[i][j] = ((dt/ddx)
(lamConst[i][j] + (2.0*muConst[i][j])));
c3[i][j] = ((dt/ddx)*lamConst[i][j]);
c4[i][j] = ((dt/ddx)*muConst[i][j]);
}
}

it compiles but during run time the error i get is - Unhandled exception at 0x00401f97 in fdtd.exe: 0xC00000FD: Stack overflow - what does this mean? will I be able to pass these 2d arrays to the GPU memory and use it for compution? im quite confused and I have done quite a bit of reading on getting started. please can some help me.

Well, any n-dimensional array in memory (device, host, whatever) is inherently a 1D array. Saying an array is 2D, 3D, etc. is just a convenience for the programmer.

For example, these are the same:

• 1D matrix (a vector) with length 100, and index k
  • 2D matrix (10x10) with indices i, j

They are totally the same to the compiler…it just translates Array2D(3,4) into Array1D(34).