Accessing Pixel Values in Real Time

I am looking to use a TX1 for the following:

(1) capture an image from the TX1 camera
 (2) examine the image for a black object against a white background
 (3) if present, compute object position (in pixels)
 (4) repeat as fast as possible
 (5) use object trajectory to do some stuff

Given pixel data in, for example, an array, I have experience writing algorithms for processing of image data and doing of some stuff. I cannot figure out how to access the image data. I have no experience with the image capture part, and I have found the Nvidia documentation (API Specifications, webinars, API reference documentation, …) to be frustratingly unhelpful and largely inscrutable.

JetPack was recently installed so the software is up to date. I started examining the Argus sample code “oneShot” line by line, but got nowhere.

ANY help with any of the following would be tremendous:

1. What is the best approach to access pixel data?
  2. Is modifying “oneShot” using Argus and EGLStreams the right approach?
  3. Conceptually, where does accessing the pixel data fit in? {e.g., in oneShot, after an image is captured [iFrame->getFrame()], or does a specific consumer have to be established?}
  4. If the pixel values are in an array, what is the best way to process image data quickly? There seem to be several packages that could work.
  5. Where should a beginner start? Is there documentation, website, textbook, blog, … that provides a readable account of the image capture procedures (e.g., those provided by Argus)?

1, It differs how you capture. If you want high resolution and high framerate, using V4L2 to capture MJPEG format is better. In this case, you need a decoder and a buffer converter and you can use mmap to access pixel data.