Accidentally delete /usr/local/cuda in CentOS

Hi all,

I just accidentally deleted /usr/local/cuda and /usr/local/cuda-8.0 in CentOS when I tried to reinstall cuda toolkit. Now I tried to install cuda toolkit again, but I found that /usr/local/cuda seems to disappear forever. Is there any way to save this?

I’m new to linux, so if there is any information I have to provide, please let me know. Thanks in advance.

When you reinstall, if the directory /usr/local/cuda-8.0 appears (it should) then /usr/local/cuda is just a symlink to /usr/local/cuda-8.0

Normally the installer will create this symlink for you, but I don’t know what method you used to install the toolkit.

Anyway, if /usr/local/cuda-8.0 is properly set up, you can easily create the symlink yourself, something like (as root):

ln -s -T /usr/local/cuda-8.0 /usr/local/cuda

on linux you can often get command help with for example:

man ln

Thank you for your reply.

I was following the official guide (CUDA Installation Guide for Linux), and I used rpm to install cuda.

I had tried to remove cuda and reinstall it, but /usr/local/cuda-8.0 still didn’t appear.

If /usr/local/cuda-8.0 does not appear, then the install process is not working.

after looking at your cross-posting:

[url]https://stackoverflow.com/questions/45034348/accidentally-delete-usr-local-cuda-in-centos[/url]

I would suggest:

1. Follow the steps in the linux install guide to completely remove the package manager (rpm/yum) installation:

[url]Installation Guide Linux :: CUDA Toolkit Documentation

yum remove cuda

1. Start over and run a the full install process:

[url]Installation Guide Linux :: CUDA Toolkit Documentation

sudo rpm --install cuda-repo--..rpm
sudo yum clean expire-cache
sudo yum install cuda

Sorry about the limited information, but I don’t know what information I should provide.

After I downloaded cuda toolkit, I followed the installation instruction and ran these: