Advice on first CUDA system

I have a lot of experience in parallel and some massively parallel computing. I have not tried CUDA yet though.

At the moment I have several applications which are candidates for massively parallel computing and I’d like to try CUDA. At the moment I think I’d like to start with Matlab+Jacket. At the moment I use Matlab on 64 bit Vista or Windows 7.

I already have a Dell Precision M4400 - Quad Core 2.53GHz, 4GB RAM, nVidia Quadro FX 1700M (512MB), which already has Windows Vista 7 64 bit and Matlab. I am under the (possibly naive) impression that all I have to do is add some sort of CUDA software, a trial copy of Jacket, and then I should be able to see what CUDA is like, although not the highest performance.

So my first question is whether this sounds like a feasible idea? Would I be better off with different software? I’m fluent in all sorts of things (C, Fortran, Python, R) so if there is an easier first try I’m willing to listen.

My second question is would it make sense for me to have a straightforward workstation built with one or two Tesla C1060 cards? I would rather not go for the usual workstation builds because they are LOUD, and I have previously had good luck with a company (not named to avoid spam) that build very quiet gaming systems, DAWs, video boxes, etc., so this would probably be simple for them.

In case people are interested, my anticipated areas of application are:

Very large scale portfolio selection.
High complexity signal processing.
Combinatorial optimization.
Number Theory.
Solid state physics.

The point of that is whatever sort of strengths and weaknesses that I find on CUDA, I expect at least one of these will work well on the platform, so I’m willing to get the system before I have a lot of experience with CUDA on the laptop. Is that a mistake?