Allow non-root users to change application clocks?

Hello, I’m trying to allow non-root users to set application clocks for our A100 cards. But it appears the -acp option for nvidia-smi is deprecated. Is there an alternative? I see --auto-boost-permission but that’s not supported for this card (and I specifically want users to be able to use -ac, not --auto-boost-default). Driver version is 525.85.12, and this is an A100-40GB card.

~$ sudo nvidia-smi -acp UNRESTRICTED
Warning: This option is deprecated and will be removed in future releases
Treating as warning and moving on.
All done.

~$ sudo nvidia-smi --auto-boost-permission UNRESTRICTED
Changing auto boosted clocks permissions is not supported for GPU: 00000000:41:00.0.
Treating as warning and moving on.
All done.

Thank you,
-Collin

I have no experience with it, but perhaps you can achieve what you want through DCGM:

Thanks, I tried it out but in the context of a Slurm environment, it allows the user to change the clocks on all GPUs on the current node. It doesn’t restrict the user to the GPUs it allocated, like nvidia-smi does. So I think this opens the door to other issues, like people changing clocks on GPUs they’re not running on.

~/$ dcgmi discovery -l
4 GPUs found.
+--------+----------------------------------------------------------------------+
| GPU ID | Device Information                                                   |
+--------+----------------------------------------------------------------------+
| 0      | Name: Quadro GV100                                                   |
|        | PCI Bus ID: 00000000:01:00.0                                         |
|        | Device UUID: GPU-0ff8396c-51a0-9682-41ee-4cc278423f88                |
| 1      | Name: Quadro GV100                                                   |
|        | PCI Bus ID: 00000000:25:00.0                                         |
|        | Device UUID: GPU-b6097f37-0603-0a1d-064f-f0a54d98acf1                |