Are there any examples of CUDA kernel executions that run for a long time?

I’m a researcher looking for examples of computations that spend a long time on the GPU, anything over 30 minutes for example. To be clear, the kernel execution alone should take that time, not the entire application execution or the sum time of multiple kernels launched in sequence.

Pointers to any GPU computing group that does this kind of thing or published work is most welcome.

1 Like

This will take a least a day on one GPU;

[url]https://sites.google.com/site/cudamagicsquare/[/url]

These type of problems split well between multiple GPUs, and the permutation problem will take along time once you go over 16!

[url]https://sites.google.com/site/cudapermutations/[/url]

Thanks that definitely helped, would you happen to know of a more practical, real-world example that has a long running kernel? Thanks.

In terms of practicality GPU based particle simulations in complex 3D geometries could be configured to run over 30 minutes. Also a large case of the Floyd Warshall all pairs shortest path algorithm ( over 20,000 vertices) would take some time.

Thanks, this has been very helpful!

What is it that you are researching ? Can you be more specific ?

My research looks into resilience in high-performance computing (HPC). High performance compute clusters typically encounter failures that are handled in various ways. One very common way to handle failures is to periodically checkpoint the currently executing application so that a restart can be made from a previous checkpoint should any failure occur. In a nutshell, the application is suspended, and its current execution state is saved. So checkpoint/restart has been well documented and is so far the most reliable method to achieve resilience in compute clusters.