Avoiding branching with an arithmetic trick...

Hi all,

I’m a CUDA newbie, and this is my first post on the forum, so good to meet you all!

My reason for looking at GPU computation is to calculate (and sum over) a large (about 100000x1000) matrix. My problem concerns time series data where each of the elements of this matrix represents an integral over time. Fortunately I can discretise this interval to make the maths easy. Let’s call this matrix B. I have a further two vectors, I and N, which correspond to event times for the indices of the matrix B. Then:

B[i,j] = p0 * I[j] + p1 * ( min( N[i] , I[i] ) - min( I[i] , I[j] ) )

It would be great to use the GPU to calculate this sum of products. However, I note that conditional statements are unlikely to make this approach effective, and here I have two. However, I could write the following:

min( N[i] , I[j] ) - min( I[i] , I[j] ) = ( N[i] -| I[i] ) - ( N[i] -| I[j] )

where the -| operator returns the difference between the operands if the difference is positive, and 0 otherwise - ie the result floors out at 0. My question is: does such an operator exist? If so, then it would be a great way around having to introduce the branching construct and destroy the thread parallelisation.

My solution so far is to define (using horribly loose notation):

a -| b = fabs( ( a-b )* !signbit( a-b ) )

This seems very complicated for what should be a simple operation, and I’m not sure whether this is using branching under the hood. Plus, it’s not robust as signbit() is defined in the standard as returning non-zero if the sign is negative. Any advances on this??

Many thanks,

Chris

How about (a-b )*(a-b>0) :) ?

What branching are you talking about? If you think ‘min’ has branching, then you are wrong - ‘min’ is an instruction. And in general, if your algorithm has to branch, no need to replace it with math, just try make all threads in a warp take the same path, and the rest leave to the compiler.