Basic Questions: Implementing Parallel Computing

I’m very new to parallel computing. I starting myself off by trying to write a Jacobi Method code for CUDA. While I am writing, I have some very basic questions that will help me program.

How does a processor relate to a thread, block, and grid?

What is pinned memory, pageable memory, and page-locked memory? Advantages?

With respect to my Jacobi Method, How do I assign for example an equation to a thread? Or how do I know how many lines of my matrix will computed by each thread or block?

How will I get my threads to wait until all are computed before going to the next iteration of Jacobi?

I was looking through the “basics of CUDA” slides and I don’t understand the use of Memset. What is it for?
Malloc - set aside memory on device for my matrix ** If it is a matrix how does it know how much to allocate because technically it only knows that the first digit is a float or int?
Memcpy - copy matrix to device or to host or to other device

Thanks. These questions seem basic but that is because I have no experience with parallel computing.

• James

It’s all in the CUDA programming guide.
You can skip the driver API and the texture functions on the first pass just to get a quickstart.

N.

The thread/grid/block paradigm is really just an abstraction away from the details of the underlying processor. This makes it somewhat easier to write CUDA code than it otherwise would be, since you can more easily describe the parallelism in your algorithms.

Pinned/pageable memory thread:
[url=“http://forums.nvidia.com/index.php?showtopic=85337”]http://forums.nvidia.com/index.php?showtopic=85337[/url]