Beautifulsoup, Multiprocessing, and CUDA?

Hello,

I am an amateur programmer, and have written a python program which, in a loop, scans websites using beautifulsoup and runs if/then statements on the html it returns.

I was directed to CUDA looking at the 1950X, which promises to reduce the processing time of the loop considerably, however, I am looking for even more speed, and in the case of multi-processing where it spits out different programs (in this case, one for each website) until my cpu is at max, I need to know if applying CUDA to my program would be valuable. I do not fully understand what I would be working with, but I am determined to learn.

Ultimately, what I need to know when building a dedicated rig for this application is whether or not I should put a graphics card on it at all, or if so, how many. Will CUDA let me slave GPUs to expand my pool of multi-processes? Let me know.

Bump?

Have you run a CPU profiling on your existing python based solution to see where it spends the most CPU time? You’d need to run a profiling tool that also captures any overhead created by the python interpreter and runtime environment. Is it maybe I/O or memory bound and not even maxing out the CPU’s processing capabilities?

I doubt you could feed data to the GPU fast enough for it to be worthwhile offloading the processing. And other parts of the pipeline would likely be the dominant time sinks (Ahmdahl’s law applies to your entire processing pipeline).

Unless you have identified the processing of the extracted data to be your main bottleneck, don’t even think about offloading it to the GPU ;)

Christian

Hey thanks for the reply,