Best way to set up a native static lib?

Yes, I’m a complete noob when it comes to Android programming.

I’m trying to setup a cocos2dx app, and would like to understand how to setup the project. It’s Java+Native, so there’s a single call to LoadLibrary to load the app’s native .so. I need to be able to setup some cocos2dx static libraries projects that will generate a number of .a files to be linked into the .so. What’s the best way? There doesn’t seem to be an Android project template for static libs. I can select a native app template, then change the configuration to static lib, but that leaves me with a lot of auto-generated stuff I’m pretty sure I don’t need (or do I?).

I notice also that the nv_* static lib projects have a simple simple structure that I probably need to emulate, but what’s the best way to get there? Do I start with a native app template then remove all the bits I don’t need?

Also, the nv_* static lib projects contain an Android.mk, as to the other samples, which also contain an Application.mk. But these files does not seem to get auto-generated when I create a new java+native app. Must I create and maintain these myself, in parallel with the Visual Studio project? And if I must do this, are there plans to manage these via the Visual Studio gui in the future? I mean, if I add files to the project, I would expect them to be reflected in the Android.mk, for example, and for project compile settings to be available in the GUI, and reflected in Application.mk.

Is there a best-practices doc? I looked in the TADP ‘docs’ directory, but it did not contain anything to provide direction.

Hi, Bill

Sorry we don’t have enough documentation for this. Android.mk and Application.mk are used by NDK-build, that’s not auto generated in the Visual Studio tool. We provided those files to make the project compatible with ndk-build. Changes in VS will not be reflected in .mk files. We don’t have plan to support maintain .mk files so far.