Block Divergence

Hey,

I am relatively new to Cuda. I need help with diverging blocks to do different things. In the kernel, I want one block to execute one particular set of instructions and the others to do something else.

Currently, I have 2 blocks with varying number of threads in each. By varying I mean the number of threads in a block is read from a file for different instances of the problem I am working on. But the number of threads in each block are equal.

So, the most obvious way for me was to use the if statement. This is what I do in my kernel:

__global__ void abc(args)

{

if (blockIdx.x==0)

{

i = threadIdx.x;

}

else if(blockIdx.x==1)

{

i = threadIdx.x;

}

}

Actually, I want the i in each if statement to start from zero and increase. This is because ‘i’ will later on have to access different arrays. So, once the kernel checks for the blockid, then will setting i=threadIdx.x give me i=0,1,2,3,…? does this mean that the i’s in the if statement and in the else statement are different or am i waiting for the the i’s from if statement to finish and then come and run the else if statement? Also, for this problem, I have threadsPerBlock=16, blocksPerGrid=2 and the kernel is called as abc<<<blocksPerGrid, threadsPerBlock>>>(args);

Is what I’m doing totally invalid? Any help is more than welcome.

threadIdx.x is a counter which tells you the thread number within your block. So for every block the threads are labeled from 0 to (blockDim.x-1).
Your approach for diverging your code between blocks is also perfectly fine and except for that additional if statement you won’t suffer any other penality. You may also freerly use __syncthreads() in each of the branches, because whole block is executing one or another branch.