building a cucv? computer vision

hi,
im a phd researcher in automotive computer vision. we have a car equipped with three cameras and a host computer with 4 cpu cores and … a gts 8600 :-)

there are several projects to port cv functions on the gpu, any interests to build a CUDA-solution (to be in namespace: cucv)

or is there still one?

i think this would have a big impact on cuda
and i just wonna start a discussion before going into details.

best regards,
moik

Try this:
[url=“http://openvidia.sourceforge.net/”]http://openvidia.sourceforge.net/[/url]
(not using CUDA yet)

yes i know the openvidia project.
there are several with cg/glsl code.
another one could be found on gpgpu.org with tries to clone opencv with glsl.

i think cuda is the better architecture for that task :-)

are there interests?

cheers
moik

Hi Moik,
Our backgrounds seem to be quite similar. I do research in computer vision for robotics and have previously implemented Itti & Koch’s model of attention in GLSL. I might be interested in a computer vision project using CUDA. However, I’ve not yet come to a conclusion on what computer vision operations benefit from implementations on GPUs. After all, a real-time computer vision system includes more than just filtering and feature extraction. One shouldn’t forget that you can get quite a bit of speed using MMX and SSE ops in assembly. How much do you benefit from CUDA and what is the cost in terms of development time? That remains to be investigated. My intention is to implement a SIFT-like feature extractor and draw conclusion from that effort.

FYI, there is already a CG-based SIFT implementation on the GPU, which was demo’ed recently at CVPR. If you implement this on CUDA, it would be interesting to compare your performance against the CG-based version.

http://cs.unc.edu/~ccwu/siftgpu/

@celebrandil: i fully agree with you.
you have to look at MMX and SSE, too, not focusing on the gpu only.