Cannot boot host computer after using NVIDIA SDK Manager

Hi,

I’m a robotics engineer from a robotics OEM and the NVIDIA SDK manager just made it so my laptop doesn’t boot. I’d like to get support very quickly.

Details:
I’m trying to load Jetpack onto a TX2. To do this I downloaded the NVIDIA SDK Manager onto my development laptop which is a Dell XPS15 with Ubuntu 18.04 on it. I went through the steps of the SDK Manager. For step 1 I chose Jetson, Target Hardware: Tx2, Target Operating System: Jetpack 4.2. For step 2 the only thing I edited is where the files were to be install. I hooked a external hard drive up to my laptop, made two folders in it, and then specified those folders. Then I accepted the terms and conditions and hit next. After about 10 minutes I got a lot of installation errors. Only Cuda completed, the rest errored out. It then asked if I wanted to retry installing those failed components or stop trying. I hit stop trying which closed the SDK manager. I then tried to reopen the SDK manager but it wouldn’t open. I thought a reboot of my computer may help but now I cannot boot my laptop. I can boot into recovery mode and get to a root terminal but that’s it. From the root terminal when I do the ls command the only folder I see is /snap. How can I fix my laptop? Why did the SDK manager do this to my host PC? How do I load Jetpack on the TX2 without borking my laptop? BTW this also just happened to one of our other engineers who tried to do this just before me, but then went on vacation. We are very unhappy that this has happened to two of our development laptops and if we can’t get this resolved quickly we are going to recommend to our management to remove all products we sell that rely on the SDK manager.