Cannot run the application locally

I was working on Edge Detection using Stereo Camera. I have used Python API to write Codelets. And while doing so, I somehow managed to get the whole application running. Now when I run it, system’s camera window pops up and detects edges live stream, but in localhost:3000, it’s showing that the channel is empty. Since I’m new to ISAAC, I’m not able figure out what’s going wrong.

Application File

Build File

JSON File

I also think I am running it wrong way, by skipping tick function and directly using start() to edge detection. I know I should be using tick_on_message, but I can’t understand how it works, can someone please help me on this? @nvidia

Your application is actually relying on OpenCV to handle both camera capture, processing (flip), and display. This mostly bypasses the Isaac SDK Engine and the other components, so Sight has no visibility into what is going across. The Isaac Scheduler brings up your EdgeDetector codelet which just never finishes starting up from its perspective.

You’ll want to decompose this into at least three components, each in their own node, connected by edges between them. The first is the “camera” which will handle capture and emit an ImageProto which will be delivered through an edge to the “edge_detector” component. The edge_detector, which was configured to tickOnMessage() in start(), will run its tick() method which will make OpenCV calls and then emit an image. That image will get sent through an edge by the “viewer” component which is what Isaac Sight has access to.

In 2020.2, you can take a look at //sdk/apps/tutorials/opencv_edge_detectionif you haven’t for the C++ version of what you’re trying to do (the Python version will not be very different).

1 Like

@hemals I did try the C++ Version of Edge Detection, but got confused with ImageProto. Anyways I will try doing it the way you described. I will get back here with results. Thank You!