Combining sums

Hi all, I’m new to CUDA. I have a good understanding of how it works however, but my main difficulty atm is that i’m new to parallel programming in general.

Could anyone give me some pointers of how you might tackle the following problem?

I have 2 arrays of data. The first contains IDs, and the second contains a contribution for that specific index. Eg:

[0, 0, 0, 1, 1, 2, 2, 2, 0, 0]

[0.1, 0.1, 0.1, 0.1, 0.2, 0.2, 0.2, 0.2, 0.1, 0.1]

I want to sum up the contributions for each ID. So in this example the answer would be:

1: 0.3
2: 0.6

Any help is greatly appreciated :)

Hello MissSusan,

I tried to compute the sums of rows in a matrix and I think this problem is smiliar to yours.

My first try to realise your idea, would be to take a kernel configuration, which helps to avoid the search of your ids.

A basic approach is to use the register blockIdx.y as ID for a reduction ( if your IDs are less than 65536 ) to sum all elements with the accordingly ID.

That way, you can sum up 65536 x 512 Elements with every blockIdx.y row.

This is the host code an a kernel configuration, i would use…

// n is the number of elements

int n = ...

dim3 sum_DimBlock, sum_DimGrid;

// maxThreads is the maximum number of threads you want to use or your device can deliver

// we only need n / 2 threads in the first reduction circle to sum n elements

sum_DimBlock.x = ( n < maxThreads << 1 ) ? (int)ceil( n / 2.0 ) : maxThreads;

sum_DimGrid.x = (int)ceil( n / (float)( sum_DimBlock.x << 1 ));

sum_DimGrid.y = maximumID;

sums<<< sum_DimGrid, sum_DimBlock, sizeof( float ) * sum_DimBlock.x>>>( n );

while( sum_DimGrid.x > 1 )

{

n = sum_DimGrid.x;

sum_DimBlock.x = ( n < maxThreads << 1 ) ? (int)ceil( n / 2.0 ) : maxThreads;

sum_DimGrid.x = (int)ceil( n / (float)( sum_DimBlock.x << 1 ));

sums<<< sum_DimGrid, sum_DimBlock, sizeof( float ) * sum_DimBlock.x >>>( n );

}

The sums kernel can be something like:

__global__ void sums( int n )

{