Compiling CUDA code from other platforms

Hi, I’m new to PGI compiler, I have to compile some C + CUDA code on a computer without a Nvidia card, for executing in other computers. I can use Windows or Linux (32/64 bits) version with the free trial (I don’t know if I can have both with the trial) for compiling, and execute the programs in a Windows/Linux (32/64 bits) architecture too, with an appropriate Nvidia card. I have a few questions:

• Should I use Windows or Linux version of PGI? I prefer the version to make it easier to compile and just run on another machine (Windows?).

• Should I compile for Windows, or Linux? Which could give me more compatibility?

• How can you compile for a specific graphics card from another platform?

I’m interested in knowing about the “safety” of the process, I want to compile and be assured it would work on the another machine, at least in the fewest possible attemps, because for me it takes a long time between compiling / testing the code, since I can’t compile in the destination machine.

Thank you very much.

Hi valenbg,

Our CUDA C++ compiler only targets x86 based systems while our CUDA Fortran compiler and OpenACC directive/pragmas can target NVIDIA gpus.

If you really want maximum portability, then you’ll want to more to using a higher level approach like OpenACC. With OpenACC, you insert pragmas in your code indicating which portion of code to off-load to an Accelerator. An Accelerator is a generic device that could be an NVIDIA GPU, but could also be an AMD Radeon, Intel Xeon Phi, or other future device. Actually, we’re working towards allowing a single binary to target multiple devices. You can more information on OpenACC at: PGI Compilers with OpenACC | PGI.