Compiling CUDA Edit into Existing f90

I’m interning with NASA for the summer and I’m editing a preexisting CFD solver to implement CUDA. I’ve read all of the appropriate literature, but this is my first time working with CUDA. I had a question on compilation.

I have edited an existing .f90 file to use cudafor, determine if devices are present and, if so, transfer control to a .cuf file I’ve coded, which includes a module and four subroutines. I have one host subroutine to transfer all necessary imports to the device and calls the two global subroutines, which are parallelizing two original loops. Both of the global subroutines also call a device subroutine.

There is an existing Makefile.am, which I am also fairly new to, having only worked with small chunks of code at my university and no projects large enough to merit a Makefile. Unfortunately, because of the nature of this project I cannot post source code, so I will try and be as descriptive as possible. The Makefile also handles MPI, which is also implemented in the software. When I try and run the configure script (to generate the actual Makefile from the Makefile.am) I get the following error:
config.status: creating src/Makefile
Warning: unable to locate module “cudafor” used in “././structured_inviscid_flux.f90”.
Warning: unable to locate module “cuda_drv” used in “././structured_inviscid_flux.f90”.

For simplicity, I have made sure that the cuda_drv.cuf file is in the same directory as the rest of the main files. I can see that all of the .f90 files are creating .mod, something the .cuf isn’t, or at least isn’t doing yet. I’m compiling using the pgfortran compiler, with options -pg and -Mcuda to enable the .f90 to use cudafor.

Okay, I believe that is the best description I can give. Does anyone have any advice on how to link this new file in with the rest and how to edit the Makefile. If the contents of the Makefile are necessary, I may be able to post that much, just let me know.

Thanks.
R M Sivley