Compute capability is 1.1, suitable cuda version?

Hi, I’m new to cuda programing. I have GeForce 9500 Gt installed in my desktop. When I installed cuda 7.0 it said that my gpu is not compatible, but GeForce 9500 Gt has 35 cuda cores and a compute capability of 1.1. I would like to learn learn more. Please help me … Do you think installing a lesser version will solve the problem? if so what is the cuda version I should install? Please help me …

–Thank you in advance …

The CUDA 7.0 toolkit and drivers don’t support compute architectures 1.0 to 1.3 anymore.
See chapter 3.0 here: [url]http://developer.download.nvidia.com/compute/cuda/7_0/Prod/doc/CUDA_Toolkit_Release_Notes.pdf[/url]

The latest Windows driver for GeForce 9500 GT is [url]http://www.nvidia.com/download/driverResults.aspx/82467/en-us[/url] and that site says “CUDA Toolkit: 6.5”, so download and install that Toolkit from the CUDA download archive.
Do a custom install and deselect the display driver installation to keep your current installed display driver if it’s the newest one.

Thank you …

I’m using ubuntu 14.04, this is the platform where I face this problem. Will installing “CUDA Toolkit: 6.5” solve the problem ?

When I install “CUDA Toolkit: 7.0” the driver did not work properly, so I installed the latest driver using the run file. Will installing driver separately using a .run file cause any malfunction?

And how to remove all “CUDA Toolkit: 7.0” related files so that I can install a clean version of “CUDA Toolkit: 6.5”?

–Thank you …

Yes, CUDA toolkit 6.5 would be the latest one with support for your GPU on any OS.

The display driver contained inside CUDA toolkits is only needed when the toolkit is brand new and no public driver with support for that CUDA version has been released, yet.
As soon as an official display driver release is available which supports a specific CUDA version you require, installing that newer display driver is actually recommended.