Crashes Since Driver 301.42

Dear OptiX Team,

I have been using OptiX on Windows since 2011 with a legacy code built on top of OptiX. However, for nvidia display drivers that are newer than 301.42 I experience random TDR crashes.

I tested the code on different windows versions; including 7, 8 and server versions and with different hardware configurations; same hardware and platform with different versions of OptiX (including the latest) and CUDA; it still crashes.

When I disabled TDR on Windows; instead of driver crash, the program was blocked indefinitely. I checked GPU memory to see if there was a leak; the answer was no.

I can not reproduce the crashes; they just happen randomly; the crashes occur during ray tracing (rtTrace); usually after assigning diffuse/specular material to objects in the scene.

I know it is very difficult to find the problem without me providing a sample code; however, I don’t know which portion of the big legacy code causes this error.

Please note that as soon as I downgrade to display driver 301.42, there are no more crashes on any of the platform/hardware that I tested. But this is not sustainable – new hardwares do not support 301.42 anymore.

So my question is, is there such a known bug? Has anybody experienced this issue in the past?

What could be the problem? And what would you recommend me try?

So, sometimes it doesn’t work, but you can’t reproduce the problem or give out the code. This is going to be a tough one.

First off, is there anything stochastic in the code? If there is, can you eliminate it temporarily in order to make the code completely deterministic? This will help create a reproducible result.