CUDA and Hough Transform

Hello,

I’m a beginner with CUDA and I’m trying to implement the Hough transform.

The problem is that I use this function several times with the same parameters the result in imgOut is always different and I don’t understand why.

I think the problem comes from CurrentL and CurrentR but I don’t know why.

Can you explain me, please

//------------------------------------------------------------------------------

//Hough Transform Method

//	@param imgOut

//	@param imgIn : pointer inthe image in the devide

//	@param nr:number of row

//	@param nc:number of column

//------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Hough(int* imgOut, unsigned char* imgIn, int nr, int nc, int Pitch,int rmax, int angle_max)

{	

int t = 200;

int yc, xc;

yc = (int)(nr/2);

xc = (int)(nc/2);

double rr = 0.0;

int ra;

double conv = 3.1415926535/180.0;

int CurrentR = 0;

int CurrentC = 0;

unsigned char * houghImg= (unsigned char *) (((char *) imgIn)+blockIdx.x*Pitch);

for ( int i = threadIdx.x; i < nc; i += blockDim.x )

{

if(houghImg[i] >= t)

{

CurrentR= 1+(i+blockIdx.x*Pitch)/nc;

CurrentC= (int)fmod((double)(i),(double)nc);

for(int alpha = 0; alpha < angle_max; alpha++)

{

rr =(double)(yc-CurrentR) * sin((double)(alpha*360/angle_max)*conv/2)+(double)(CurrentC-xc) * cos((double)(alpha*360/angle_max)*conv/2);

if(rr<0.0) 

{

ra=(int)rr;

}

else 

{

ra=(int)rr+1;

}

imgOut[alpha+((rmax+ra)*360)]++;	

}

}

}

}

Hello,

someone can say me how to implement the Hough transform with CUDA

What I would do is let each thread take care of a pixel in the output image. So it then has to go look in the input-image for all the values to add up. I would access the input image by means of a 2D-texture.

So let’s say you take a blocksize of 16*16, then your grid becomes (output_x_size/16), (output_y_size/16).

Won’t this mean reading each pixel of the input image a thousand times and cause horrible BW stall?