Cuda by Example, compiling chap4 Julia set example Some help in figuring an example that is not work

I’m a noob at programming cuda. I’m working through the Cuda by Example book by Sanders and Kandrot. They Unfortunately do not give much advice by way of compiling, except to use nvcc, so I assume that their programs are supposed to compile relatively easily, but I got to the example in Chapter 4 regarding the Julia set computation. This fails when compiled. I get undefined reference errors.
. . . undefined reference to glutInit' . . . undefined reference to glutInitDisplayMode’
. . .
I think this might be associated with my LD_LIBRARY_PATHS variable that I’ve had a bit of trouble with, since this appear to be associated with the open GL libraries. Here are the spec for my environment:
Ubuntu 10.4 LTS Lucid x64
NVIDIA Cuda Compiler release 3.2
gcc version 4.4.3-4ubuntu5

I compile with “nvcc julia_cpu.cu” and I get the errors I’ve lists above. When I compile with “nvcc julia_cpu.cu -lGL” I get error “/usr/bin/ld cannot find -lGL” but locate finds several libGL.so files. libglut.so is only found in /usr/lib32.

Any help is appreciated.

I’m a noob at programming cuda. I’m working through the Cuda by Example book by Sanders and Kandrot. They Unfortunately do not give much advice by way of compiling, except to use nvcc, so I assume that their programs are supposed to compile relatively easily, but I got to the example in Chapter 4 regarding the Julia set computation. This fails when compiled. I get undefined reference errors.
. . . undefined reference to glutInit' . . . undefined reference to glutInitDisplayMode’
. . .
I think this might be associated with my LD_LIBRARY_PATHS variable that I’ve had a bit of trouble with, since this appear to be associated with the open GL libraries. Here are the spec for my environment:
Ubuntu 10.4 LTS Lucid x64
NVIDIA Cuda Compiler release 3.2
gcc version 4.4.3-4ubuntu5