[CUDA Dynamic Parallelism] How to avoid unnecessary child kernel launch overhead?

Hi, I am a beginner in CUDA.
Recently I was trying to implement BFS with CUDA Dynamic Parallelism (CDP).

if (id < TEST_NODE && Fa[id] == true && Xa[id] == true)
{
	Fa[id] = false;
	int start = Va[id].start;
	int end = start + Va[id].length;            
	if (Va[id].length >= THRESHOLD) // CDP condition
	{
		int num_blks = (Va[id].length / 32) + (Va[id].length % 32 != 0);
		int threads = 32;
		// launch child kernel
		CUDA_BFS_NEIGHBOR_KERNEL <<<num_blks, threads>>> (Va, Ea, Fa, Xa, Ca, done, d, start, end);
	}
	else
	{
		for (int i = start; i < end; i++) 
		{
			int nid = Ea[i];
			if (Xa[nid] == false)
			{
				Ca[nid] = Ca[id] + 1;
				Fa[nid] = true;
				*done = false;
			}
		}
	}
}

The above code is part of the BFS kernel. When the number of neighbors of a node is greater than the given threshold, the child kernel will be launched.

if (Va[id].length >= THRESHOLD) // THRESHOLD = 1048576
	{
		int threads = 32;
		CUDA_BFS_NEIGHBOR_KERNEL <<<num_blks, threads>>> (Va, Ea, Fa, Xa, Ca, done, d, start, end);
	}
	else
	{
		...; // visit neighbors w/o CDP
	}
}

However, after I turned CDP off (set the threshold to a very large number), I found that even though the conditions for CDP were never hold, the child kernel launch overhead was still there (elapsed time ≈ 125ms for BFS).

{
		int threads = 32;
		// CUDA_BFS_NEIGHBOR_KERNEL <<<num_blks, threads>>> (Va, Ea, Fa, Xa, Ca, done, d, start, end);
	}
	else
	{
	}
}
	{
		int threads = 32;
		while(true) printf("Oh NO...");
	}
	else
	{
	}
}

And when I delete the line of code that launches the child kernel, or add while(true); above it, the performance is improved. (elapsed time ≈ 25ms for BFS)

What I want to ask is:

• Where does this launch overhead come from (when the CDP condition is never met)?
  • Can I avoid unnecessary launch overhead when I don’t want to start the kernel (the number of neighbors is less than the threshold)?