Cuda pointer alignment for GPUDirect Remote Direct Memory Access

I am new to GPUDirect and I found an official example from this link. https://docs.nvidia.com/cuda/gpudirect-rdma/index.html. There is a section code as the following.

// for boundary alignment requirement
#define GPU_BOUND_SHIFT   16
#define GPU_BOUND_SIZE    ((u64)1 << GPU_BOUND_SHIFT)
#define GPU_BOUND_OFFSET  (GPU_BOUND_SIZE-1)
#define GPU_BOUND_MASK    (~GPU_BOUND_OFFSET)

struct kmd_state {
	nvidia_p2p_page_table_t *page_table;
    // ...
};

void kmd_pin_memory(struct kmd_state *my_state, void *address, size_t size)
{ 
    // do proper alignment, as required by NVIDIA kernel driver
    u64 virt_start = address & GPU_BOUND_MASK;
    size_t pin_size = address + size - virt_start;
    if (!size)
    	return -EINVAL;
    int ret = nvidia_p2p_get_pages(0, 0, virt_start, pin_size, &my_state->page_table, free_callback, &my_state);
    if (ret == 0) {
        // Succesfully pinned, page_table can be accessed
    } else {
        // Pinning failed
    }
}

I am confused about the line 15 which is a bit operation. It seems that the GPU_BOUND_MASK is just 0…01111111111111111 where there are 16 ones and the rest are all zeros. I do not understand why this provides us a aligned pointer.

Let’s be clear that when you say 0…01111111111111111 you are referring to a binary view of GPU_BOUND_MASK. And that wouldn’t be a correct (achievable) value anyway.

For simplicity of my typing, let’s pretend that GPU_BOUND_SHIFT were 4 instead of 16. This would suggest that we are expecting to align to a boundary where the lowest 4 bits are zero, which would be equivalent to a 16-byte boundary (if you have the lower 16 bits as 0 in GPU_BOUND_MASK, it simply means that the expected alignment boundary would have the lower 16 bits as zero, i.e. a 64kbyte boundary).

The way this works is as follows.