CUDA samples yield code=3(cudaErrorInitializationError) when executed.

Hi, I am a newbie to CUDA. I have a MSI GeForce GT 710 which I believe is CUDA compatible (3.5 sm_code?)
I have installed the driver as per NVIDIA instructions disabling the nouveau driver.
I have also installed CUDA 8.0 and built gcc 5.4.0. The reason for this is my system has Fedora 25 with gcc 6.3.1 which gave an error at compilation saying gcc 6.3.1 was not compatible. But if I set up gcc 5.4.0 then the samples compile without error.

(21:47 admanero@ThermaltakeBox cdpSimplePrint) > make TARGET_ARCH=x86_64 dbg=1 SMS=“35”
/usr/local/cuda-8.0/bin/nvcc -ccbin g++ -I…/…/common/inc -m64 -g -G -dc -gencode arch=compute_35,code=sm_35 -gencode arch=compute_35,code=compute_35 -o cdpSimplePrint.o -c cdpSimplePrint.cu
/usr/local/cuda-8.0/bin/nvcc -ccbin g++ -m64 -g -G -gencode arch=compute_35,code=sm_35 -gencode arch=compute_35,code=compute_35 -o cdpSimplePrint cdpSimplePrint.o -lcudadevrt
mkdir -p …/…/bin/x86_64/linux/debug
cp cdpSimplePrint …/…/bin/x86_64/linux/debug

But 2 samples I have compiled (asyncAPI & cdpSimplePrint) successfully but both of them yield the same error on execution. And I am lost as to why this error :

• have I missed something in the installation or if the GPU card is really CUDA compatible?
  • Fedora has to be only Fedora 23 with gcc 5.3.1 only for CUDA 8.0 to work? Would it work in Fedora 25 with gcc 5.4.0?

I have a Fedora 25 box with Intel Graphics and the MSI GeForce GT710 card. Any assistance would be much appreciated as I am newbie and I cannot find anything that would get me out of this problem in the Documentation nor in this DevTalk Forum. Thank you.

(21:40 admanero@ThermaltakeBox asyncAPI) > ./asyncAPI
[./asyncAPI] - Starting…
CUDA error at …/…/common/inc/helper_cuda.h:1133 code=3(cudaErrorInitializationError) “cudaGetDeviceCount(&device_count)”

(21:47 admanero@ThermaltakeBox cdpSimplePrint) > ./cdpSimplePrint
starting Simple Print (CUDA Dynamic Parallelism)