CUDA with C++

Hello,

I’m trying to call my CUDA kernels in C++ code.
I use the cppIntegration example but it 's not running.
My CUDA code is considered as C++ code.

Someone could explain me what the way to correct that?!

Thanks

edit: I use Visual Studio 2005

You should just name your file as “.cu” and compile it with custom-build rule using “nvcc” either into OBJ (-c option) or into EXE file – as you wish.

–edit–
I am not sure about the cppIntegration example… have not seen it yet. so, if my answr above could be un-related… sorry bout that.

How do you use the custom-build rule

Excuse me if my question appears stupid but I’m a newbie with VC++

Right click the “.cu” file in your project and click “properties”

In the ensuing dialog box you will find a place where you can set your “custom build” command.

You should also specify what your final executable would be (in case of linking with other objects) – so that VC++ environment will know what is your output of your custom build and how it can link it with other objects and so on.

Kindly note that this will NOT help you call CUDA kernel from .CPP file.

I am assuming you are a newbie and you want to get your first CUDA program compiled… IF thats the case, then its fine!

but if u r trying to do something jazzy like calling CUDA kernel from a file with extension .cpp then I really dont know.

Thanks, I’m trying to call a function of a file.cu which calls a CUDA kernels (like the SDK example about the CUDA integration in a C++ program)

I use the CUDA CUSTOM BUILD RULE but there is a problem of linking after the compilation.

So can you say to me how correct this problem? I don’t know where I can specify what my final executable would be.

Just below where you specified compilation via NVCC (Custom build rule) – there will be a text box asking “outputs”. There in you can specify the OBJ file path…

For example, my custom build rule for trinomial program is: