CUDA with MySQL calculus in mysql

Hello to everyone,

I have a GTX 295 that I would like to use to make some calculus with CUDA to see the potentiality helping me in deciding to buy a tesla card…

I have financial data in a Mysql server on Linux and I need to make calculus on this data (I have hundreds of milions of records, so a technology as this could help me a lot…).

I know these languages PHP, Visual Basic, C.

Problem is that I dontt know where to start for compiling an application with CUDA and MySQL. So Im a newbie and I would be grateful to anyone who could help me.

It`s not very clear to me how to connect the application in CUDA to the database… It would be helpful also some guide or book!

Thanks

Since you know C, you should be able to program CUDA after reading the programming guide.

I could see this working if you used some C++ MySQL API Wrapper to interface with the database.

You could write C++ code to run on the host and pull data from the database. Then this data can be copied to the device for parallel processing.

If this doesn’t have to be done on live data, I’d suggest just using PHP to dump the data you need from the database to a file and then using C++ to parse the file and pass the data to the GPU. This would avoid the mess of a C++ MySQL wrapper.

Wonderfull! I don`t have live data! Question: When I dump data with PHP, which kind of file should I use?

I would imagine it wouldn’t really matter much, you just want it to be easy to parse with C++ code

could you give me an example please…

1. I write the php code and with a query I extract data from the database

2. From PHP I write this data in a file → what kind of file would you use?

3. I write the CUDA code and I make calculus on this data writing the result on a new file

4. I use again PHP to write the data inside the database

Is this process correct?

Is there some guide for newbie?