DetectNet Methods

Hello, I am trying to set a variable in the my-detection.py script to a specific number when the detect net recognizes a certain object. For example, if it sees a person, it will set the variable x = 1, but if it sees a dog, it sets x = 2 etc… I want to use the GetClassDesc() method so that when it outputs the string description I can relate it to a number. I am a little confused on the parameter that this method takes in. What is the “index of the class” parameter exactly in this case. The ‘object’ hyperlink right above it does not work so I cannot get any further insight. A more in depth description of this method would be very helpful, as it seems simple enough but I am fairly new to python. Thanks!

Hi @jpurpura37, GetClassDesc() takes the ClassID from the detectNet.Detection object:

detections = net.Detect(img)

for detection in detections:
    class_name = net.GetClassDesc(detection.ClassID)
    print(f"Detected '{class_name}'")

So class_name here is the string description of the object? And detection.ClassID is something predefined in the detectNet object? If I retrained the SSD model and exported it through ONNX, then put it into this script instead of ssd-mobilenet-v2, how would the detectNet object change?

The class names are the names from labels.txt

The class ID’s are the number of the class in labels.txt (starting with 0)

So for example, with this labels.txt

BACKGROUND
car
truck
bus
bicycle
person

So BACKGROUND has class ID=0, car has class ID 1, truck has class ID 2, ect

detectNet loads your labels.txt which is where it gets the info from. Your model was trained so that it’s DNN outputs match the class ID’s. If you manually reorder the class labels in labels.txt, it will seem like you are getting incorrect results.

Thanks, you’re the man Dusty!

One more question, is there a method in detectNet that outputs the x and y coordinates of the image so that I can print them to the terminal?