__device__ causes lmem count to explode Limiting lmem usage in __device__

I have a global function which calls a device function multiple times per thread. Within the device functions, I declare multiple working variables. When I compile using --ptxas-options=-v options, my lmem count gets extremely high. (This is not due to maxrregcount limitation – my register usage is below maxrregcount).

My hunch is that I could solve this by not declaring my work variables in device, but instead as shared arrays (one per threadIdx) in global and passing appropriate references to device. While I know how to declare shared arrays, I am not really sure how to get them used in device. (I am a longtime gentleman programmer, but not of the C variety. I am fairly certain this issue revolves around pointers, but I thought I might have read that pointers and shared memory might not work).

Is my hunch correct?

Are there any examples or documentation for the most efficient way to structure device functions to limit lmem usage? (My lmem explosion is so great that even Fermi will have difficulties).

Thanks.

Edit: Moderator, please feel free to move to CUDA Programming and Development. Apologies.

If you want to keep variables inside a shared memory, you do exactly that: pass a reference! :)

__device__ void function(int &param) {

}

__global__ void kernel() {

__shared__ int variables[BLOCK_SIZE];

function (variables[threadIdx.x]);

}

You can also declare references inside the code:

__shared__ int varlables[BLOCK_SIZE];

int &var=variables[threadIdx.x];

__shared__ int warpVariables[BLOCK_SIZE/WARP_SIZE];

int &wvar=warpVariables[threadIdx.x/WARP_SIZE];

Sometimes I use this trick if I want all threads from a warp to use a single value, but threads from different warps use different values and I don’t want to write [threadIdx.x/WARP_SIZE] each time.