display a buffer openGL/cuda question

Hi

I think this question is more openGL stuff, but still it’s cuda related.

I’d like to share memory between openGL and cuda

with the commands

glBindBufferARB(GL_ARRAY_BUFFER_ARB, pbuffer);

glVertexPointer(2, GL_FLOAT, 0, NULL);

glDrawArrays(GL_POINTS, 0, DS);

it is possible to draw a shard buffer (pbuffer here). The buffer contains simply points (particles), that are then drawn to the right location.

In my buffer there are not Points but scalar values. They represent a color (let’s assume only gray for the moment). Is it possible to draw such an array with openGL?

What if I would have a cudaArray with such values? Would it also be possible to pass that directly to openGL for drawing? Or do I need to draw that point by point?

Since I’m new to openGL and CUDA I’m glad for any hint :)

Thanks,

Severin

Currently one has to use PBO.
In your case, you could convert the float to RGBA colors in CUDA, copy the values to a texture (as mentioned in another thread), and draw the texture in GL.
Just remember not to use glDrawPixels. It’s slower than texture.

Severin, you cannot share buffers between CUDA and OpenGL as they live in different contexts. So you need to copy the data between the contexts. It will be relatively fast as this will be in GPU mem. As asadafag already said, you can use a PBO or VBO for that. See the various image processing examples in the SDK. An important optimization is that you do not need to unbind the buffer from CUDA (writing to it) if OpenGL-copy-to-texture only reads from it. Just make sure that the CUDA kernel has finished before doing the texture copy.

Peter

thanks for your answers.

I took a closer look to the boxfilter example.

What is not yet clear to me is how all these different variables are related to each other.

so far I understand that

‘h_img’ is the original image on the host (used for loading it into the device)