Does Nvidia use any kernel static and runtime analysis tools (semi-rant, plus findings on issues on ...

I’ve been debugging some of my own driver additions to the 4.4 kernel release with the 28.1 L4T driver package (I’m using a CTI Spacely carrier board, which only officially supports the 28.1 kernel. I tried booting the 28.2 kernel with the CTI patches, but it was having early boot problems and CTI disabled the serial output during early boot so I wasn’t able to debug that [and they don’t know or won’t tell how to enable it, something about TX1 and TX2 compatibility]). While debugging, I enabled KASAN to make sure my driver isn’t doing weird stuff with memory, but what I discovered is a large quantity of problems from Nvidia specific kernel code, things like use-after-frees and accessing global variables and overrunning them, etc. Looking into these problems (which didn’t take that long, even when considering that this is my first time using KASAN and debugging the kernel in this fashion), I discovered errors. For example, some of the use-after-frees were happening in platform drivers that were deferred but some driver along the way had defined its of_device_id table as __initconst, so it was freed by the time the probe was retried. The global variable overrun was happening due to a lack of a terminating {} sentinel in an of_device_id struct array in a driver written by Nvidia (drivers/crypto/tegra-hv-vse.c specifically). Funny thing, this last issue in tegra-hv-vse.c is a problem that coccinelle caught. After learning that coccinelle can catch a whole set of issues within the kernel (with some false positives), I decided to run it, and there were a lot of issues scattered about (I’m still analyzing them).