EDID file format not recognized

Hello,

I’m not a developer. As stated by your Customer Care I post my problem here (it seems an age-old one for millions people) for Linux driver version 470.182.03:

[ 1796.180] (WW) NVIDIA(GPU-0): Unable to use EDID file
[ 1796.180] (WW) NVIDIA(GPU-0): ‘/usr/src/linux-5.15.19/tools/edid/1280x1024_75.bin’: file
[ 1796.180] (WW) NVIDIA(GPU-0): format not recognized
[ 1796.182] (–) NVIDIA(GPU-0): CRT-0: connected
[ 1796.182] (–) NVIDIA(GPU-0): CRT-0: 400.0 MHz maximum pixel clock

Same for a TXT file added via “nvidia-xconfig --custom-edid” and created by MonInfo.exe on Windows.

The BIN file instead was created by “make” from a different .S file.

More, on the VGA-0 entry the button “Acquire Edid” is frozen in Nvidia-settings.

I need to set 1024x768@70, @75, and 1280x1024@75. Would you help me, please?

Here is the bug report
nvidia-bug-report.log.gz (1.2 MB)

Hello @stefano.r, welcome to the NVIDIA developer forums.

This might be overstating it a bit. Nowadays it is very rare that people need or want to touch individual EDID settings.

Still, would you mind sharing the EDID file here?

The first thing to consider is to check, since the EDID is a text file, if the file is accidentally in DOS line-ending format. That might break things. Try dos2unix maybe?

Hello Markus,

Many thanks for your reply.

Please find enclosed the EDID files I tried unsuccessfully (it seems I can only put one link, please see the following posts):

20B-xp-raw.txt (385 Bytes)

The “raw2” is the same as the first one, I just wanted to add some “newlines” to sort data by 10 columns. Probably useless.

The dos2unix command is missing in Slackware 15.

it provides a “make” utility to build “.S” files, I enclose here one of them with the relevant binary one:

Thanks again to pay me your attention.

20B-xp-raw2.txt (409 Bytes)
raw2.txt

1280x1024_75.bin (129 Bytes)
binary of a “.S” file

1280x1024_75.S (1.6 KB)
“.S” file

Any news about my files?