Exisiting CUDA OpenGL: How to use it with CPU instead of GPU?

Hi,

I’m a absolute newbie to OpenGL. I’ve found a CUDA mandelbrot set example where OpenGL is used to show it on the display.

I now wanted to program the same application but without use of CUDA. The sense is that I want to switch between CPU and GPU while executing.

But I don’t know how to transform the existing CUDA OpenGL instruction in that way, that I can use it for my CPU calculation.

The buffer and texture are initialised as following:

GLint bsize;  

glGenBuffers(1, &buffer);

glBindBuffer(GL_PIXEL_UNPACK_BUFFER, buffer);

glBufferData(GL_PIXEL_UNPACK_BUFFER,Bpp * sizeof(unsigned char) * width * height, NULL, GL_STREAM_DRAW);	

glGetBufferParameteriv(GL_PIXEL_UNPACK_BUFFER, GL_BUFFER_SIZE, &bsize); 

if ((GLuint)bsize != (Bpp * sizeof(unsigned char) * width * height)) 

{

printf("Buffer object (%d) has incorrect size (%d).\n",(unsigned)buffer, (unsigned)bsize);

cudaThreadExit();

exit(-1);

}

glBindBuffer(GL_PIXEL_UNPACK_BUFFER, 0);  

cudaGLRegisterBufferObject(buffer);

glGenTextures(1, &texid); 

glBindTexture(GL_TEXTURE_2D, texid);

glTexImage2D(GL_TEXTURE_2D, 0, GL_RGB, width, height,  0, GL_RGB, GL_UNSIGNED_BYTE, NULL);  

glBindTexture(GL_TEXTURE_2D, 0);

glPixelStorei(GL_UNPACK_ALIGNMENT, 1);

glPixelStorei(GL_PACK_ALIGNMENT, 1);

Now Cuda uses it in the following way:

cudaGLMapBufferObject((void**)&data, buffer);

// Calling of the CUDA Hostfunction

calculateHost( data, centerX, centerY, zoom, width, height );

cudaGLUnmapBufferObject(buffer);

data is an pointer to unsigned char

I want to give my CPUfunction the same Parameters as the CUDA hostfunktion (unsigned char* data, centerX, centerY, zoom, width, height )

But I don’t know how the code it. :( As far as I can say it the variable data is the problem because it needs to be a pointer to unsigned char.