FHC 2013: The Fourth International Workshop on Frontiers of Heterogeneous Computing


FHC 2013: The Fourth International Workshop on Frontiers of Heterogeneous Computing

To be held in conjunction with IEEE HPCC 2013

Zhang Jiajie, China, 13 - 15 November, 2013


Important Dates

  • Paper Submission Due: July 15, 2013
  • Notification of Decision: August 15, 2013
  • Camera-ready Papers Due: September 15, 2013


We are witnessing a tremendous adoption of multi-core and many-core computing in today’s top supercomputers as well as personal supercomputers. The number of cores packaged in a single processor grows from 2 to 16 in six years. On the other hand, many-core co-processors (such as GPUs and Intel MIC processors) are being actively developed and play a critical role in today’s supercomputers. For example, the number of Top500 supercomputers that use co-processors increases from 17 in 2010 to 62 in 2012. On the software side, a plenty of applications are being optimized for multi-cores and/or accelerated by many-core co-processors, including those from computational finance, numerical computing, image/video processing, engineering simulations, bioinformatics, weather simulations, quantum chemistry, etc. With the widespread of such heterogeneous computing systems, many new research issues and challenges appear and have to be addressed.

The goal of this workshop is to provide a forum for researchers and practitioners to discuss and share their research and development experiences and outputs on multi-core and many-core heterogeneous platforms, software development tools, optimization techniques, parallel algorithm design, energy efficiency, task scheduling, and all kinds of successful applications. We solicit original and previously unpublished papers addressing research challenges and advances towards the design, implementation and evaluation of heterogeneous computing systems.

Topics of interest include, but are not limited to:

  • Large-scale Simulations on Heterogeneous Platforms

  • Performance Modeling and Benchmarking

  • Multi-core and Many-core Processor Architectures

  • Parallel Programming Languages and Compilers

  • Middleware and Libraries

  • Parallel and Distributed Algorithms

  • Self-configuration and Fault-tolerance

  • Green Computing

  • Scheduling in Supercomputers or Data Centers

  • High Performance Computing in Cloud

  • Load Balancing in Heterogeneous Systems

Submission Instructions:

Authors are invited to submit manuscripts reporting original unpublished research and recent developments in the topics related to the workshop. The length of the papers should not exceed 6 pages + 4 pages for overlength charges (IEEE Computer Society Proceedings Manuscripts style: two columns, single-spaced, 10-point font), including figures and references. All papers will be peer reviewed by the programme committee and the comments will be provided to the authors. Once accepted, the paper will be included into the IEEE conference proceedings published by IEEE Computer Society Press (indexed by EI).

To submit your paper, please access EasyChair (http://www.easychair.org/conferences/?conf=fhc2013). If you do not have an EasyChair account, please obtain one through https://www.easychair.org/account/signup.cgi?conf=fhc2013.

Workshop Co-Chairs:

Xiaowen Chu, Hong Kong Baptist University, Hong Kong, China
Yangdong Deng, Tsinghua University, Beijing, China
Wei Ge, Chinese Academy of Sciences, Beijing, China

Technical Program Committee: (to be updated)

John Cavazos University of Delaware, USA
Matthew Curry Sandia National Laboratories, USA
Bingsheng He Nanyang Technological University, Singapore
Zhiyi Huang University of Otago, New Zealand
Won-Ki Jeong Ulsan National Institute of Science and Technology, Korea
Hai Jin Huazhong University of Science and Technology, China
David Kaeli Northeastern University, USA
Naga Kandasamy Drexel University, USA
Volodymyr Kindratenko University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign, USA
Jingfei Kong AMD Corporation, USA
Miriam Leeser Northeastern University, USA
Peng Li Texas A&M University, USA
Qiong Luo Hong Kong University of Science and Technology, Hong Kong
John Michalakes National Center for Atmospheric Research, USA
David Walker Cardiff University, UK
Cho-Li Wang The University of Hong Kong, Hong Kong
Tien-Tsin Wong The Chinese University of Hong Kong, Hong Kong
Hongsuk Yi Korea Institute of Science and Technology Information, Korea
Yunquan Zhang Chinese Academy of Sciences, China