First approach to cuda, need optimization or work are slow?

Hello,

I’m new in the world of CUDA and I want to try it. Ihaving watched a bit of tutorials, programming exploiting parallelism.

As the first program I tried to do on a cuda is a program that i have do on php.

I have a very long string of characters (near 100k char) and I need to find if it contains a set of other char all the same length.
To do this I tried to use cuda and take advantage of multithreading, one for each sequence of char that i need find.

The base code is the following:

#define N 1000
#define DIM 50

//a = text of 70k char, B=all search therm, all length 50, C=return result, D= length of A
__global__ void helloKern( char* a, char *b, int* c, int d){
	int tid = threadIdx.x;
	c[tid]=-1;

for(int k=0; k<d; k++){
		bool uguali = false;
		if(a[k] == b[(tid*DIM)]){   //for every trhead i find my search string
			uguali = true;
			for(int i=1; i<DIM; i++){
				if(a[k+i] != b[(tid*DIM)+i]){
					uguali = false;
					break;
				}
			}
		}
		if(uguali){
			c[tid] = k;	
		}
	}
}

int main( void ){
	char *frase ="lorem i...... ecc 70kchar";
	int trovati[N];
	char *dev_frase;
	char *dev_ricerca;
	int *dev_trovati;
	char *ricerca = "find1find2find3...find50"; //every find have 50char
	// Cuda malloc and copy
	cudaMalloc((void **)&dev_ricerca, N*DIM*sizeof(char));
	cudaMalloc((void **)&dev_frase, strlen(frase)*sizeof(char));
	cudaMalloc((void **)&dev_trovati, N*sizeof(int));
	cudaMemcpy( dev_ricerca, ricerca, N*DIM*sizeof(char), cudaMemcpyHostToDevice);
	cudaMemcpy( dev_frase, frase, strlen(frase)*sizeof(char), cudaMemcpyHostToDevice);
	// Do 1000 thread, one for every word
	helloKern <<< 1, N >>> (dev_frase, dev_ricerca, dev_trovati, strlen(frase));
	cudaMemcpy( trovati, dev_trovati, N*sizeof(int), cudaMemcpyDeviceToHost);
	// Then Print out
}