For what are .ppm and .raw files?

Hay,
I am new with CUDA and i take a look over the samples that came once with the install kit. I have playd a little whit project from NVIDIA Corporation\CUDA Samples\v8.0\2_Graphics\simpleTexture3D and i have seen that function

loadVolumeData(argv[0]);

read from a file from data/Bucky.raw and i have seen that all the projects have data folders.
I try to see what is in ther but i think is binary code so i can’t understand.
Can anyone tell me for what are those file?

Thanks in advance,
Adrian

.ppm is the suffix used for images stored in a simple, unsophisticated format (see Wikipedia: [url]Image file format - Wikipedia).

.raw is likely a data file stored as pure binary data (that is, without any meta data). It may be an image retrieved directly from a camera, but could be any sort of binary data file.

Nice,

I have study this file from a while and i don’t understand how they have been created, because i have try to convert them to jpg or png but convertors dosen’t recognise the file.
I don’t understand how exactly looks the file from v8.0\v8.0\2_Graphics\simpleTexture3D\data[b]Bucky.raw[/b][i][/i], and how is obtained the output from v8.0\v8.0\2_Graphics\simpleTexture3D.
It just works open in hex or binary view.

As I stated, the .raw file does not have to be an image, and it can be stored in any proprietary format the creator chose. If you want to understand what is stored in this file, I would suggest taking a look at the details of loadVolumeData(). I guess that function builds some sort of data structure from the file contents. The file itself would have been created by an inverse process that stores out such a data structure using a suitable algorithm.

Function loadVolumeData has indeed a call to a function name loadRawFile(), but this function read the file in a buffer and that’s all he does.

// Load raw data from disk
uchar *loadRawFile(const char *filename, size_t size)
{
    FILE *fp = fopen(filename, "rb");