Gnome and bandwidthTest Underperforming Desktop Environment

Hi!

I am still pretty new to CUDA, trying to figure out what kind of application this can be used for. What I would like to do is realtime audio/synthesis under MIDI-control, so I started out studying what kind of timeframe would be possible? Ideally kernels should run for (at most) a millisecond at a time to have reasonably low latencies and leave enough room to have graphics updating as well.

At first this didn’t look too good. With a plain vanilla desktop kernel, about 20% of the time was spent on uploading a small fragment of data representative of the keyboard state. Upgrading the kernel to 2.6.24.7-rt17 doubled the throughput but most importantly: Jumping out of Gnome then quadrupled the throughput? Modifying the bandwithTest to ask for high priority realtime performance shaved off yet another 20%, so now the test can upload some 10Kbyte of data in just 0.02 milliseconds rather than the original 0.2 milliseconds. That should be good enough, I think …

But what I wonder is: What is up with Gnome? X by itself isn’t degrading performance, nor is a lightweight environment like IceWM.

mvh // Jens M Andreasen
[using a silent 8400GS/g98]

Very interesting post, thanks for sharing.

Regarding the slowdown -
Could it be that your Gnome is using OpenGL to draw windows? This is on by default in some distros nowadays. The setting is in the Appearance control panel IIRC.

No. I don’t think so. I just tried out a few more window managers, and surprisingly my all time favourite WindowMaker shows the same symptom as Gnome, whereas blackbox/fluxbox are as invisible as working directly on the console.

Xfce has its own way of (not) working: The first run is high performing but on the second - or no later than the third run - performance has degraded by 90% back to 0.2 milliseconds/minimal transfer