GPU & HDD Overheating On AC Power (ubuntu)

I’m kinda new to Linux still and a racking my brain in this issue myover-heating issue.

Here is my set up:

HPDV6000 Laptop
AMDTuron 64 bit processor 
NvidiaGforceToGO 7200 
3gbof memory 
160gb hdd

CurrentVideo driver ver Linuxdriver ver 173.14.36
Itdual boots windows 7 and ubuntu lts 12.04 x64

I originally installed Ubuntu 12.04 and it worked for a while and then it started to get real hot and hang where the only thing that would work was my usb mouse. The only thing I could do with the usb mouse when that happened was move it around. The system did not respond to any clicks so I was forced to shut down. In this version of Ubuntu it defaulted to a proprietary video driver and would not let me swap it. I tried to do a kernel update and then it ceased to even boot.(Please see myprevious post when running ubuntu 12.04: “RandomFreezes and other errors”[ubuntu] Random Freezes and other errors)

I read about how Lubuntu was supposed to work better on older systemsand laptops so installed that. (I let it completely remove the oldubuntu 12.04)

Ilet it run all the updates and noticed it was still getting hot Iinstalled the Psensors and it showed my GPU was getting to 130c +barely doing any thing (watching a youtube vid)