GPU recommendation

Hi everybody,

I hope the section is correct. I’m a PhD student and with my research group we’re starting to work on Machine Learning. I’m writing here for some advice on the hardware choice, as we have little expertise in this field and we need to set up a dedicated lab.

We will work on training of neural networks. We will use Tensorflow and Pytorch but we won’t work on images. Our budget is up to 2k$, possibly slightly less. Up to now I think our options are going either for a Jetson Xavier AGX or more simply for a PC with a good graphic card. To sum up, my questions are the following:

• Is there any clear advantage in using a Jetson Xavier instead of a normal PC?
  • Which kind or series of graphic card are the most suitable for this kind of task? (training NN, no images)
  • Is the CUDA technology implemented and exploitable in all these solutions?

Thanks in advance for your help!

hello, this is the question we all ask ourselves, we who have a limited budget. Already do not think of a single computer but of a cluster computer, you divide the acquisition costs, but you gain in efficiency, you will have to learn how to manage Linux, so Ubuntu, for the rest the node is ryzen 3/5, 8 GB of RAM, a terabyte hard drive. the GPU you need 1650/650 super at least, you need two nodes and a server .
To manage all of this, plus datasets, models, frameworks, go to https://cnvrg.io/

1 Like

Thanks @devhci for the answer! So yes, if I get it right you basically suggest to invest in 2 smaller devices and to link them, distributing the workload. I’ll have a look to cnvrg.io, looks interesting

I found it hard to express myself: not a server + a worker, but a server + two or more workers if you can, you have to think in “kubernetes” mode, which has become the alpha and omega of the deployment, certainly, it is far from our usual playgrounds, but it is so in the datasciences. Once again, do not buy right away, the prices are too high and it is speculative.