GTX 780ti integer operations(Giops)

Been testing this GPU in linux, and WOW it is fast. Even when I use 64 bit integers it often outperforms the K20.

For example the GTX 780ti only takes 8.17 seconds to generate all 13! permutations of an array in local memory(no evaluations of permutations, just generates all with no repetition), when the K20 takes about 12 seconds for the same task.

For 14! it takes the GTX 780ti 126.37 seconds, while the K20 takes 188 seconds.

The funny thing is that other pieces of code which have mostly 32 bit float operations, the GTX 780ti is not always faster, and for some data shapes the GTX 780ti is slower by as much as 40% when compared to the K20.

Is there a fundamental difference in the way the GTX 780ti handles integer operations when compared to the K20 ?

I am not aware of any fundamental differences in the integer processing units of various sm_35 GPUs, but I am not a hardware expert.

Are you sure the performance differences observed can’t be explained by a combination of different clocks, different memory bandwidth, and scheduling differences caused by the different number of SMs (e.g. when the number of thread blocks is evenly divisible by SM count)? You could use the profiler to drill down and identify key differences for a given workload. K20 is PCIe Gen2 while 780 Ti is PCIe Gen3, so that could make a difference if your system supports PCIe Gen3 and application performance has a dependency on host/device transfers.

[url]http://www.geforce.com/hardware/desktop-gpus/geforce-gtx-780-ti/specifications[/url]
[url]Page Not Found | NVIDIA

I assume you are performing the K20 vs 780Ti comparison as a controlled experiment where nothing in the system changes except that the GPUs are swapped. Otherwise there could be numerous other effects that impact application-level performance.

Why are 32-bit floating point operations slower on the GTX 780 Ti than on the K20?