Guidance in implementing a custom ROS2 Extension

Hi, I am relatively new to Isaac Sim in general, so I would like to ask for guidance for something you guys might find relatively trivial to implement.

What I want:
A component like ROS_JointState, but instead of publishing joint states, I want it to expose a ROS2 service that I can call from my system. It should expose 2 ros2 services

• one to add an rigid body from a known asset path at a given pose to a specified environment path
  • one to remove an object from a specified environment path

So that I can dynamically add / remove different objects for my robot to pick in the simulation

What have I discovered so far:
After looking around into the source files and the documentations

• Given that the ros2 <-> issac side is taken care of, I know how to add object from an asset path to an environment path with wanted translation and rotation (similar to what’s inside the omni.isaac.samples extension)
  • How to expose my extension and add it to the menu bar + how to remove it when the extension is shutting down

What I need help with
I need guidance with the following topics

• How do I establish a communication with ROS2? I tried looking for source code online on how the ROS_JointStates or its TF tree counterpart is written, but so far I have not found any source code and it seems like the access I only get is the already-compiled .so file for the extension
  • How is the ros2 architecture structured on the Isaac side? should I just go and create a new node for myself? or should I get an existing singleton node from somewhere and define my services on it (as I found a nodeName config in the ROS2 bridge .toml)
  • I tried importing rclpy from the ros2_bridge extension (which works), but when I tried calling rclpy.init() inside Isaac, I got an error where it cannot find librclpy_common.so. Which is very strange to me as I can verify the following