Half WRAP -- NEWBIE help

Hi all,

I am an experienced programmer ( with aerospace background) but I am very new to CUDA. After going through the programming guide I was able to get most of the stuff, but the concept of “half wrap” wasn’t clear to me.

Please can somebody explain what purpose does it serve and how should that be taken into account for memory optimization ?

Thanks all, External Image

Nittin arora

Its “WARP” buddy… Not “WRAP”.

NVIDIA likes to confuse its readers. Thats the only inference I could make until some1 told me this explanation.

"

A WARP is a bunch of 32 threads with consecutive threadIDs starting from multiples of 32 (0,32,64…). There are 8 CPUs in a multi-processor. These 8 CPUs have to execute the same instruction at the same time for all 32 threads in a warp.

Now, consider an instruction that loads from shared memory.

Now, this instruction has to be executed by 32 threads.

Now, there are only 16 shared memory banks. So, there are bound to be redundancy. Thus first 16 threads have to execute first and the rest 16 have to wait for the 16 to complete.

OR

something like that…

The manual also talks about half-warps during coalescing global memory as well… So, it could very well be a specific hardware feature that NVIDIA does NOT want to divulge.

"

Whatever it might be, you can safely ignore it and work with CUDA… May b, some1 enlightened could give you a better answer

thanks for the reply… “wrap” was a typo :)…

nittin

Going over some of the posts on this forum, I found out half-warp had some connection with memory coalescing. That is what I was trying to understand.

Nittin

Half warp, not half wrap ;)