Hardware failure following invalid memory access an expensive problem...

Hi all, hope I put this post in the right place. I’m relatively new to CUDA and let’s just say things aren’t going too well…

The story: I finally started porting my project from GPGPU/shaders into CUDA - I’m unwilling to go into much details on a public forum, but let’s just say it involves fluid dynamics. I’d not got far with my port (okay, actually a complete rewrite) and I’d just finished writing a new kernel and ran the program to test it out. Whoops, the screen started showing purple lines and flickering, indicating I’d got some pointer arithmetic wrong in accessing some data within CUDA’s linear memory space - how embarrassing :"> . Fair enough, I didn’t expect to get things right first time and a restart solved the problem. I eventually found the erroneous line - apparently a memory read from a pitched array. Unfortunately to find it I re-ran the program with the line enabled. Same thing happened, but this time a restart didn’t help - Windows got as far as the login screen and started displaying artefacts before locking up. I tried turning the computer off and leaving it off for a while, same problem. To make matters worse, all the shutdowns took their toll on my hard drive and Windows will no longer boot, complaining of corrupt files. It then occurred to me that this could have been the problem all along but I also got the same thing under Linux, which boots from a separate hard drive (and is now running fine with my old graphics card in). The X-server would get as far as the login page, display some exciting visual artefacts before completely seizing up forcing me to turn the whole machine off again. :wacko: