Help controlling ros from laptop

I need some basic info as Im new to ros. I need laptop control of a robot with lidar and mapping. Can I run this from a very basic laptop or do I need something amazing? should I build a great desktop or just run everything from a built laptop?
I need full control of ros jetson nano v3 to start. can I build, learn, deploy using a built desktop then control from a basic laptop?

I guess Im asking whats a good learning setup desktop laptop ros and robotics with heavy machine learning and ai in its future

I can’t answer from the AI viewpoint, but whatever you use, I suggest it have Ubuntu 18.04 on it. To complicate things, then the next major release of flash software comes out, you would want it to dual boot between Ubuntu 18.04 and 20.04. If you have two equal partitions, then you can wait to install 20.04. If you also have Windows, then basically divide the disk into thirds so you can install each of them. The biggest problem here is that actual flash takes a lot of disk space, so dividing the disk up like can reach a smaller disk’s limits. Typically I do something like this, and I have a second hard drive I can mount on the home directory’s “~/nvidia” so it uses that extra drive for all that space, and it works equally on any version of Ubuntu.

I couldn’t say what the right answer is for laptop versus PC for ROS.