Help for a beginner. (compiling the sample sdk projects) Need help compiling the examples providided

I am a CUDA beginner, absolute beginner and now I must conquer CUDA to gain my degree. I am using the guidelines provided by Nvidia and information I’ve found on the forum and from a member of this site too, but having some issues.

I am on Vista x64 and using the GeForce 560ti card. I have experience with basic Java coding and some very basic (absolute beginners stuff with C). So I am trying to follow the Nvidial starter guide word for word, all I want to be able to do is, just compile and run their example “bandwidthTest”. Of course if I can get this one example out the way I can start to look at the others.

Here are the key things I’ve done.

1. Installed all the CUDA stuff, toolkit, sdk (4.0 beta versions) and updated my gpu driver.

2a. Installed Visual Studio Basic and C++ Express 2008.

2b. Installed Visual Studio Basic and C++ Express 2010 (not sure which to use, 2008 or 2010?).

1. Installed the CUDA VS Wizard 2.2, which worked after visual studio c++ 2008 was installed.

2. In VS C++ 2008, I added the “bin”, “lib” and “include” folders to the VC++ Directories, (through options → projects and solutions).

3. Tried to open the bandwidthTest example (in the folder ProgramData\NVIDIA Corporation\NVIDIA GPU Computing SDK 4.0\C\src), using open project and the file bandwidthTest_vs2008.sln. But I get the error “Project Load Failure”.

The error goes on to say give this statement:

Custom build rules file ‘C:\Program Files (x86)\Microsoft Visual Studio 9.0\VC\VCProjectDefaults\NvCudaRuntimeApi.rules’ was not found or failed to load.

I have read online that I need to change the build rules, but the method they use required the project to be loaded, so I can’t do that unless the project loads up.

Could anyone help me?

There are 2 other questions which spring to mind reading comments on the forum, is VS 2008 Express (free version)comptaible with CUDA SDK 62bit?