Help or documentation on GRID K1 sVGA deployment on ESX 5.5 and XenDesktop 7.6

Hi all,

I’m new to graphics acceleration on VDI environments and I’ve been directed here by NVIDIA customer care as they don’t seem to be able to help. Please bear with me!

We’re testing XD 7.6 on our HP Proliant DL380 Gen9 server with a single K1 card installed and would like to use sVGA to provide additional graphics acceleration to our users who are at most ‘knowledge users’ using Office 2013 primarily hence vSGA instead vDGA. I’ve installed the VIB driver and it appears to be installed OK as per the below output from the console:

~ # esxcli software vib list | grep -i nvidia
NVIDIA-VMware_ESXi_5.5_Host_Driver 340.32-1OEM.550.0.0.1331820 NVIDI
~ # nvidia-smi
Thu Jun 11 15:00:32 2015
±-----------------------------------------------------+
| NVIDIA-SMI 340.32 Driver Version: 340.32 |
|-------------------------------±---------------------±---------------------+
| GPU Name Persistence-M| Bus-Id Disp.A | Volatile Uncorr. ECC |
| Fan Temp Perf Pwr:Usage/Cap| Memory-Usage | GPU-Util Compute M. |
|===============================+======================+======================|
| 0 GRID K1 Off | 0000:86:00.0 Off | N/A |
| N/A 28C P8 7W / 31W | 23MiB / 4095MiB | 0% Default |
±------------------------------±---------------------±---------------------+
| 1 GRID K1 Off | 0000:87:00.0 Off | N/A |
| N/A 27C P8 7W / 31W | 23MiB / 4095MiB | 0% Default |
| 2 GRID K1 Off | 0000:88:00.0 Off | N/A |
| N/A 20C P8 7W / 31W | 135MiB / 4095MiB | 0% Default |
| 3 GRID K1 Off | 0000:89:00.0 Off | N/A |
| N/A 23C P8 7W / 31W | 172MiB / 4095MiB | 0% Default |

±----------------------------------------------------------------------------+
| Compute processes: GPU Memory |
| GPU PID Process name Usage |
|=============================================================================|
| No running compute processes found |
±----------------------------------------------------------------------------+