[HELP] Why thrust is soooo slow?

Hello everyone,
I am a newbie to Cuda and I have a project to work on. The project is to find the k nearest neighbours of all objects, but thrust is too slow in sorting the neighbours, I dunno why. I might have something wrong with the code. Could you please help me? I meant by too slow is my CPU is faster in sorting than using thrust. I have Geforce GT 740.

here’s launch: I’m launching the kernel to find the kNN of object j

for (int j = 0; j < numberOfObjects; j++){
					kNNQueryInGPU << <blocksPerGrid, threadsPerBlock >> >(x_d, y_d, list1_d, list2_d, j);
					cudaMemcpy(&list1, list1_d, sizeof(int) * numberOfObjects, cudaMemcpyDeviceToHost);
					cudaMemcpy(&list2, list2_d, sizeof(int) * numberOfObjects, cudaMemcpyDeviceToHost);

thrust::sort_by_key(list1, list1 + numberOfObjects, list2);
					getKNNeighbour(list1, j);
				}

here’s the kernel

__global__ void kNNQueryInGPU(int *x, int *y, int *list1, int* list2, int index){
	int tid = threadIdx.x + blockDim.x * blockIdx.x;
	if (tid < numberOfObjects){

list1[tid] = sqrt(pow((double)(x[index] - x[tid]), 2) + pow((double)(y[index] - y[tid]), 2));
		list2[tid] = threadIdx.x + blockDim.x * blockIdx.x;
	}//ends while-loop
}

You appear to be sorting the data on the host.

Thrust will probably do the sort quicker if you sort the data on the device:

kNNQueryInGPU << <blocksPerGrid, threadsPerBlock >> >(x_d, y_d, list1_d, list2_d, j);
					thrust::sort_by_key(thrust::device, list1_d, list1_d + numberOfObjects, list2_d);
					cudaMemcpy(&list1, list1_d, sizeof(int) * numberOfObjects, cudaMemcpyDeviceToHost);
					cudaMemcpy(&list2, list2_d, sizeof(int) * numberOfObjects, cudaMemcpyDeviceToHost);

}

thanks for your replay, I’m getting this new error “no instance of overloaded function matches the argument list”, the first argument is mismatched.

You’ll need to add:

#include <thrust/execution_policy.h>

to your code.

thank you a lot, I’ll try it. :)

[s]It is still too slow… :(