How to define particles in cuda program?

Hi all,

I am new to cuda and my current task is to realize a Particle Swarm Optimization algorithm using cuda.

The algorithm defines some large number of particles and every particle compute the result of a function, every particle has a initial coordinate and a velocity which is changed after each computation of all particles.

My consideration is to use one thread for each particle, the number of particles can be defined as I wish. My problem is how to define the particles, as the particles are 2-dimension as the simplest, should I have a 2*n matrix and use cudamemcpy to copy each row to the device shared memory? I am kinda confused by the global, constant, shared memory on the device.

Another problem is the velocity of the particles should be modified after every computation, and as a result, I should have syncthread after each computation, I consider that would be a little tricky in the program, could somebody offer an advice?

I would greatly appreciate if you would like to give some help.

Thanks in advance.

Fei

Well, the implementation highly depends on a few aspects of your algorithm. Does this “function” depend on the coordinates of any particles other than the one it is modifiying? In other words, is the force on particle i depending on any particles in the system other than particle i?

If not, then life is easy. There is no need for any complicated synchroniztion. __synchtreads() is only needed if you have multiple threads in the block reading and writing the same shared memory. constant memory is cached, but tiny and not useful for 10’s of thousands to millions of particles. Plus it is slow when multiple threads of a warp access different values in constant memory (which the particle code will do).