How to perform packet en/decryption on Bluefield-2 without Crypto-enabled

Hi all,

I’m trying to perform AES-128-GCM decryption on incoming UDP packets on Bluefield 2. However, the Bluefield 2 I’m working on doesn’t have Crypto-enabled. Thus, I would like to ask how should I perform this task with the ARM cores using Software (C lib) ?

To my understanding, flow_fwd_target forwards packets to kernel for processing, but I’m unclear on how to modify the kernel function to perform the decryption and re-inject packets to a pipe for further forwarding.

Thank you!

why do you send packets to kernerl? I hink you should recv pkts by dpdk and decrypt them use c code/libs with the ARM cores !

Thank you so much for the timely response. Would you be so kind to point me to a source so I can begin reading? I’m new to dpdk/doca/Bluefield.

em, that’s a difficult task if you konw few about odpdk/doca/Bluefield! Maybe you could start with reading the doca samples which is location at DPU’S filesystem path: “/opt/mellanox/doca/samples/doca_flow”

Actually, I have been playing around with those samples for a while. I got the flow_shared_counter sample working recently, so I understand the flow matching, and forwarding packets to a designated pipe. However, I’m unclear on how to grep the packet content and perform the decryption before forwarding them to a designated pipe.

According to your earlier reply, the part that I’m struggling with is “recv pkts by dpdk”.

I config OVS to have 2 bridges, and flow_shared_counter sample simply forwards UDP packets between sf4 and sf5.

Screenshot 2024-03-20 at 4.35.57 PM

Firstly ,you must create an rss pipe on s4 to forward pkts to cpu, this could be done by set like this

and this

if have only one pipe in s4 or s5 doca port , you must set ”pipe_cfg.attr.is_root = true“, otherwise you will not recv the packets by dpdk/cpu

1 Like

if you want pass pkts between s4 and s5 , their representor sf4 and sf5 must be included in the same bridge